Port School Governing Board

Members of the Port School Board

Anne Gee, Chair

Anne is a former teacher and principal with over 30 years of experience in Early Childhood, Primary and Secondary Education in both State Government and Independent Schools. She has been a Head of School/Principal at Great Southern Grammar and Wesley College in South Perth and Treasurer of the Junior School Heads Association WA.
Anne runs her own art studio and an education consultancy business conducting cultural audits, strategic planning, leadership coaching, mentoring and change management services for independent schools including Scotch College, Guildford Grammar School and Wesley College. She was employed by Port School as an education consultant in 2009 and later became a volunteer board director at the School. Anne has been Board Chair of Port School since 2014.

Craig Menner, Deputy Chair

Craig is a Graduate of Murdoch University and has always been passionate about helping people. As a Police Officer in the WA Police Force for 21 years, he pursued this passion and assisted countless people all over WA.
Initially a friend of Port School assisting and supporting the School community in a variety of ways, Craig joined the Board in 2006, and later took on the role of Deputy Chair. Craig is Port School’s longest serving Board Member.
He is also a member of the governing board of Inspired Minds, an organisation actively supporting the development of Functional Neuroscience.

Richard Curry, Secretary

Richard is a former Director General of the Western Australian Department of Indigenous Affairs and Commissioner for Aboriginal Affairs Planning. He has extensive experience and high level networks developed from a 40-year professional career in government, human service practice, policy development and administration. He retired from government service in 2005. Richard’s experience also includes 35 years’ board management as a director/president of a number of leading not-for-profit service agencies.
Richard retired in 2018 after 13 years as the Principal of Richard Curry Consulting Pty Ltd, a specialist organisational development consultancy to the not-for-profit and government sectors. He is currently a volunteer board director, trustee and president to not-for-profit organisations and joined the Port School Board in 2018.

Dr Ann Hamblin, Treasurer

Ann retired after a 40-year career in soils and agricultural research, working in England, Australia and developing countries with research positions at the University of Western Australia, the WA Department of Agriculture, CSIRO, the Bureau of Resource and Agricultural Sciences (Canberra), and as Director of the Cooperative Research Centre for Soil and Land Management in Adelaide.
Ann has had 30 years of board experience with government and international research corporations, specialising in management and tertiary education. Since 2004 she has held adjunct professorial positions at ANU and Murdoch, and continues to hold an adjunct fellowship at the University of Western Australia.
Ann has been a friend of Port School since 2015 and has been on the Board since 2016.

Ronald Gorman, Ordinary Member

Ron is Deputy Director of the Association of Independent Schools of Western Australia (AISWA). He has extensive experience in teaching and leading a diversity of schools in WA and Victoria. Ron manages innovative programs and university partnerships for AISWA. He has made outstanding contributions to the study and practice of educational leadership at state, national and international levels and has presented widely on innovation, learning and school reform. He has edited and contributed to numerous publications.
Ron was recently awarded the 2019 Pre-Eminent Leader of WA by the Australian Council of Educational Leadership as well as being awarded a National Fellowship. He is a member of the Global Educators Leaders Partnership.

Serena Williams, Ordinary Member
Barry Finch, Principal (ex-officio)

Barry joined Port School in 2001, and became Principal in 2010.

In Attendance

Nolene Martin (Business Manager)

Eric Sankey (Finance Officer)

Deirdre de Souza (Executive Officer to the Board)

Providing a real alternative for adolescents who need a different kind of school.

(08) 9335 6323